14.4

The chipper.

So it finally came – the 2014 open workout that can only be described by gnarly.

14 min AMRAP of 60 calorie row, 50 T2B, 40 wall balls at 9′ with 14#, 30 Power cleans, 20 muscle-ups

I have always skipped toes to bar in work outs. May will mark one year of crossfitting and until Friday I had zero, perhaps even negative desire (since that’s possible), for learning toes to bar. I didn’t take gymnastics as a child. I actually never learned how to do a cartwheel even!

So Friday I walked into the box, looked at my coach, and said teach me the ways of toes to bar because I want to get one during the open. I wish I could say that I mastered them in 15 minutes but, alas, that is not the case. I did however discover that I need to try them during workouts because I wasn’t quite as bad as I thought I would be. I can get my right foot to touch the bar but not the left.

Saturday went as expected. I completed the 60 cal row in 3 minutes (I love to row) and then had 11 minutes to work on toes to bar. Although I was frustrated since I’m great at wall balls and am capable of completing the power cleans, it was awesome to hear the crossfit community cheering me onward. It was also great to watch the other athletes competing.

I am hoping that 14.5 is a workout where I can complete all the moves (even if they’re slow) since it’s the last one for this year’s open.

Leave a Reply

