CrossFit: November 6, 2013

It’s been awhile since I was at the box. 4 chiropractor appointments, 2 trips to Houston, and a lot of ice and tylenol later, I was ready to go back to crossfit this morning.

People ask me why I crossfit. they ask me if it’s safe since I keep getting hurt. I ask my chiropractor some of the same questions. I ask him if he thinks I should stop. and he tells me no – that building strength in my shoulder will only help me longer term. the short term pain is something I need to get better at avoiding (by not pushing myself quite so hard) and I need to focus on some mobility and stretching but that lifting weights is great for me.

So my answer to why I crossfit? that list is long but my answer today is that it’s a sanctuary of positive community for me. I’ve missed walking into a room (early in the morning) where everyone says “hello” and asks how I am, where everyone wants me to be successful, where everyone is focused on living a healthy life and being a positive influence on others. You don’t get community like that other places. I definitely don’t have it at work. so I go back to the box with the possibility of pain to be able to spend time with positive people.

………………………

Warm-Up: 250m row (x2), 20 hollow rocks, 20 supermans, 10 push-ups, 20 jumping lunges

Skill: partner work with burpees and rowing but I did 100 unbroken single unders (x4) and 10 reps of shoulder raises in two directions (x3)

WOD: 5 RFT of 20 wall balls (6#), 15 push-ups, 10 box jump overs (20″ with a walkover) in 13:54!

I went super light on the wall balls due to quantity and shoulder action but it felt incredible to be working out again!!

Leave a Reply

