Unreal.

My life is so unreal. It’s so hard for me to believe that “average” 26 year olds have life as good as I do. Yes, I’ve been through heartbreak. Yes, I’ve been through death and burial. Yes, I have medical problems. Yes, I work. And. Yes, I am single.

But.

I have so much. and I’m a brat. Let me give you a life lesson from my week this week.

I went to Haiti (again) to hug babies (please read my last blog post on hugging babies here). Our team got home at 1am Tuesday morning, I put in a 13 hour workday followed by dinner with my gospel community Tuesday night, 9 hours of working Wednesday, and 10 hours of sleep last night before flying to Houston for the day for a 1:30pm meeting with my vendor. (That makes me tired just typing it all out but it’s all the truth).

I’m currently at 40,000ft (actually the pilot said top cruising altitude will be 32,000 but I like the expression so we’re sticking with it). It’s 4:42pm and I’m supposed to still be in Houston Texas. I’m supposed to be in Houston Texas until 6:30pm but my life is unreal.

My meeting (singular, I don’t understand how I became important enough to have to fly somewhere for a single meeting but I’m here) was over at 3:15pm. I drove to the airport while checking to see if there was an earlier flight I could be on. There were three choices but only one would get me to KC earlier than my direct flight at 6:30.

Security line was 300+ people long but I have the fly-by lane with Southwest so that was a 7 minute process.

3:51pm. At the gate for the flight that leaves at 4:10pm, stops in Dallas, no plane change, land in KC at 7:05pm. Standby line is 30 people long according to the gate agent. I ask her to go ahead and put me on the line. She says she will but that she only have 6 opens seat, the odds are not good, but standby the desk to see.

About thirty five seconds later she calls my name, hands me a boarding pass, and tells me to have a nice flight. I thank her for making my day. She thanked me for flying Southwest over a 100 flight segments this year.

Now, I’m squished about five rows from the back of the plane, at a window seat (yay!!), on my way to Dallas with wifi. I’m happy. and then I start thanking God. It’s His world. Having crazy flight status with Southwest Airlines should not define me. It should not define my relationships. or my world view. (well maybe it does define my view of the world but not my world view (if that makes sense)).

I have an amazing life.

You have an amazing life.

I promise you that you do. But it’s not me that makes that promise. It’s God. He is in control.

I’m in a position that has (some) power and a lot of responsibility. I have flight status. I have freedom. This all comes from an education, a family, positive upbringing, and ultimately all of those things come from God. How crazy is it that He has chosen to bless me (and you!).

He does all things for His Glory and I pray that He would also bless me with the ability and perspective to see His Glory myself. I should not boast of my flight status. It shouldn’t matter. I should boast of The Lord God Almighty who has sent His Son to save me from my sins and sends The Holy Spirit to direct my life and fill it with blessings.

So thank you God. Thank you for being in the mundane moments of my life. Thank you for a good meeting. Thank you for patience. Thank you for my job. Thank you for the view out my window. and Thank you for this amazing, ridiculous, incredible life you give me everyday.

Leave a Reply

