CrossFit: October 9, 2013

I’m a little behind…

Wednesday I was in Houston for work but wanted to workout so I did some research and stumbled upon CrossFit 1525. They are so awesome they let you drop in from out of town for free so I was in!

6am class: me and 6 guys. 6 quiet guys. like really quiet guys. 2 of them never spoke the entire hour we worked out.

Warm-Up: 300m row, 20 jumping lunges, 20 kettlebell swings (15#)

Skill: Kipping pull-ups which I can’t do with my shoulder so I just stretched and foam rolled (much needed after Karen on Monday and sitting in an airplane for several hours the day before)

WOD: 3 RFT of 20 push press (65#), 20 burpees, 20 pistols – 16:26!

The WOD sounded simple but ended up being a grinder! I was also in a competitive mood since I was the visitor and I was the only girl so I probably pushed myself a little harder than I really should have but I’m happy.

For the pistols, the coach had us tie bands around the pull-up rack and then stand in them to help going down. I think this is a much better progression that what I have been doing previously. I typically just do a pistol until my butt touches a box (which results in me just sitting down when I start getting tired). This made my body go thru all the motions, just with a little help.

It’s always fun to stop by another box. It really makes me appreciate the great box I have at CrossFit Matters in Kansas City. Jim is hyper focused on good form and he’s a clean freak (like me) which means the floor doesn’t leave black streeks on my legs which I appreciate. Jim used to DJ which also means we have great tunes to workout to. CrossFit 1525 was a little quiet for my taste but I would recommend it if you’re looking for a great workout in the Houston Texas area.

Leave a Reply

