Pouring

Sow righteousness for yourselves,

reap the fruit of unfailing love,

and break up your unplowed ground;

for it is time to seek the LORD,

until he comes and showers His righteousness on you.

Hosea 10:12

It’s amazing how much I like the rain – not the violent kind, just the soak-the-ground kind. I should really move to Seattle. I love how rain makes everything cozy; it’s easier to prioritize your life since you have to get wet to do it. It’s God’s promise of a fresh start and His love towards people. It brings me a sense of letting go.

It’s raining outside in Kansas City right now and it has brought a sense of calmness to my life that is experiencing torrential downpours. These are the stress-induced rains that require me to believe in God’s promise of love and fresh starts. If I choose to believe that what is happening in my life right now is the only thing to work and hope for, then I am doomed just like the raindrop trying to climb up the window I’m looking out of.

Like the ground outside, I am soaking up the rain and trying to use it to grow. I’m putting my faith in Jesus that I will be able to withstand the run-off.

Leave a Reply

