The Credits of 1 Corinthians

Image

Chapter 16 of 1st Corinthians is like the credits of a movie but for Paul’s first letter to the Church at Corinth. I typically don’t post my actual notes from church but this sermon was incredible!! You can find the audio on the Redeemer website (www.redeemerkansascity.org).

1 Corinthians 16 – italics are my notes

Now concerning the collection for the saints (Paul is referring to the church of Jerusalem whom he promised in Galatians to help raise funds for): as I directed the church of Galatia, so you also are to do. On the first day of every week (when the church typically gathers), each of you is to collecting when I come. And when I arrive, I will send those whom you accredit by letter to carry your gift to Jerusalem. If it seems advisable that I should go also, they will accompany me.

Kevin discussed the backbones of giving money to the church. Paul was raising money for a church in need in Jerusalem. This is very similar to our church in KC. We are trying to bring our building up to code thru a large building fund and construction program. We are to be programatic, purposeful, generous, not sparingly. Lord, please show me how to spend my money.

I will visit you after passing through Macedonia, for I intend to pass through Macedonia, and perhaps I will stay with you or even spend the winter, so that you may help me on my journey, wherever I go. For I do not want to see you now just in passing. I hope to spend some time with you, if the Lord permits. But I will stay in Ephesus until Pentecost, for a wide door for effective work has opened to me, and there are many adversaries.

We have to make plans in life but understand God is in control so what’s on my heart may not matter in the end. You have to let God have control. Man O Man I struggle with this in my life! Plan to the best of your ability but live in the perhaps.

Wide door for effective work has opened to me, and there are many adversaries.” is another thought I struggle with in my daily life. Most of us define an open door with enemies as a closed door. God does not open doors without enemies every time He gives us opportunities.

Leave a Reply

