CrossFit: April 24, 2013

Warm-Up: Burpee Dodgeball

“Dodgeball” is just about the only word you can combine with “Burpee” that makes it better (except for maybe “Finished” or “Never” haha). There were boxes to hide behind but lots of foam balls. If you got hit, you did a burpee; if your throw was caught, you did a burpee; if you got hit while holding a ball, you did an extra burpee for each ball you were holding. Pretty simple rules and it was so much fun!! After 10 minutes of running, dodging, and throwing, you are pretty much ready to workout. 🙂

Strength: Overhead Squats

It was very re-assuring to have Jim train me thru overhead squats and not have my shoulder be painful (since that’s what I was doing immediately prior to dislocating my ribs/hurting my shoulder). He had me widen my stance and angle my feet to the outside which greatly increased my range of motion and power capabilities! With the narrow stance I was using before, I was loading my hamstrings exclusively (which are very tight) but by widening, I am to utilize my hip flexors, quads, glutes, and hamstrings which made me almost throw the 95# bar into my teeth the first time. CF is about efficient power and I think I’ve started to understand what that means (in relation to an overhead squat).

WOD: Overhead Squat ladder (on the 30 second) followed immediately by a thruster ladder – I got caught at the 6 rep mark for each

Leave a Reply

