Barotrauma

Barotrauma.

Do you know what Barotrauma is?

I do.

now.

I have barotrauma from flying for work while congested. Last Saturday night was a lot of fun – probably too much fun actually – and I woke up Sunday with the sniffles. I figured it was just allergies and old-age reacting to staying out far past my bedtime the night before.

Tuesday I flew to Houston to meet with a contractor and my ears hurt but they popped. Wednesday morning I spent on the job site with the wind blowing 45 mph and making me sneeze. By Thursday morning I was in full-blown sinus infection mode and on a plane to Corpus Christi to the module yard.

This morning was two flights back to Kansas City. During the middle of the second one, I was sitting in the window seat with tears streaming down my face because my ears were hurting so bad!! I made it into the health center at work and the Doc asked if she could show my ears off to the other nurses at the center because I have a bad, but cool to the average medical professional, case of barotrauma. She was actually impressed that I got it from flying on a plane since most cases are the result of scuba-diving. I wish I had gotten it scuba-diving…

I’ve got an appointment with an ENT Monday afternoon and I’m praying all weekend that my hearing returns to normal. Right now I have reduced hearing and feeling like I’m talking while wearing a goldfish bowl on my head. This also causes an echo in my brain when I talk which gives me a headache. I’ve got antibiotics to help me get thru the weekend. Hopefully getting my sinuses to drain will help my ear drums have more room and all could go back to normal…

Leave a comment