Restaurant Week: Captial Grille

I owe you guys several foodie posts so we’ll see how far I get with them today. I’m currently multi-tasking in an all-day internal model review so I may get called back to reality (aka my job) but this is one of my favorite parts of said reviews.

Monday night 8 of us went to Capital Grille which is a steakhouse on the Plaza. My friend Schyler is participating in restaurant week for the sole trip to Capital Grille. Needless to say he’s fed me every statistic and not-so-interesting detail he knows about this restaurant chain so I was expecting a great experience.

Overall, the food was a 9 out of 10. I ate a ceasar salad (one of my favorite foods if you haven’t picked up on that yet), 2 tornedos (two 4 oz portions) with parmesan and herbs/tomatoes, and pineapple sorbet. The pineapple sorbet is one of the best desserts I’ve ever had – it was sweet but amazing (and I’m not a huge pineapple lover in general). The steak was good, not magnificant, but the salad was not good, the lettuce was old and brown.

The service was probably a 4 or 5 out of 10. I think the wait staff managed to drop 16 different items off our table during the 1.5 hours we were there. They were clanky (yes, that’s an adjective) and the waitress actually snored when my friend mispronouced something on the menu! We were also sitting at a round table and they kept reaching over people instead of walking around the table to serve us. The saving grace was that the food was prompt and she only rolled her eyes at us once about splitting the check.

My friends enjoyed the evening but I will not return to spend a $100+ on food with the servers needing that much training. Maybe it’s because I used to work in the food service industry or maybe because I have higher standards when I’m spending more money on food but it’s not worth the repeat…

Leave a Reply

