CrossFit: Day Fifteen

January 12, 2013

Strength: Hang Power Snatch

We started by dead-lifting the bar and then assuming the power position. Then came the hang power snatch. Bend the knees. Load the hamstrings and glutes. Pull the bar as high as possible without bending the elbows. Jump and throw arms over head. Land with feet set for an overhead squat. Arm pits out. Hands wide.

30 reps at 45lbs.

One of the owners told me these looked good and like I knew what I was doing. This was the first complement I’ve gotten on my form since I started CrossFIt three weeks and it made a world of difference to my motivation. I had been feeling like I was lost and uncoordinated but apparently my body has been learning, even if my mind wasn’t keeping up. šŸ™‚

WOD: 6:30:43 – Russian kettlebell swings (24kg), handstand push-ups, toes to bar, 21-15-9

I scaled the handstand push-ups to regular push-ups (which are still scaled for me) and I scaled the toes-to-bar to be crunches on the floor. I am getting stronger but am just not quite strong enough to do these two moves yet. It will come. Just keep having great form and doing all theĀ repetitions.

2 thoughts on “CrossFit: Day Fifteen

  1. We did toes to bar tonight and the scaled version was just bringing your knees up to your chest instead of taking your feet all the way up. I wasn’t sure I could hang there, let alone bring my knees anywhere near my chest. But, to my surprise, I actually hung and managed to bring my knees up to at least a sitting position! Maybe try that next time instead of doing crunches?

Leave a Reply

