CrossFit: Day Ten

January 7, 2013

The Snatch.

Monday’s WOD was all about learning the snatch and practicing the snatch. I started out the typical warm-up pretty depressed and (for the first time) questioning why I was even at the box. I was going on a roadtrip for work that day and had wanted a fulfilling workout to off-set how much my body was going to whine about sitting in the car for 9 hours.

The board when I walked in said snatch and handstand push-ups. Two moves that I have never done before in my life. No where to hide. No where to have a pick-me-up-you-can-do-this moment during this workout. Now it was 5:45am and I was running around the box wishing I was still asleep or already in the fleet vehicle…

I will admit that I didn’t even attempt the handstand push-up. Two new moves was way too much for this kid that early on a Monday morning. However, I did “get” the snatch by the end of the workout! 🙂

I started with a PVC pipe to learn the form. Then I graduated to a trainer bar which is 35lbs. The motion clicked with me about set 2 of the WOD and I graduated to the girl bar (55lb) with 10lbs on each side (75lb total). That sounds pretty light (and it is if you’ve been doing CF or a training workout for awhile) but I was pleased. At 75lb I was having the push-press to get to the top so it’s going to take me a little while to work up the weight.

I made the realization during the strength portion that I wish my box had mirrors. I typically avoid the mirrors when I go to the gym but I’ve come to use them for productivity (and not just self judgement) when I’m learning a new technique. I’m going to start coming to the gym at my office so I can practice some of these moves in front of a mirror to be able to self-correct.

Strength: 7 sets of 5 reps

WOD: 6:43:08 – 5 sets of 3 snatches (75lb), 5 handstand push-ups (I did scaled regular push-ups), 7 box jumps (24″)

 

Leave a Reply

