Easter Egg Hunting

I was paged out a meeting I was running Tuesday morning and told/asked by my boss to fly to Decatur Alabama to find some missing pieces of equipment. Within three hours I had finished up my meeting, eaten lunch, dropped some costume stuff off back at work, and was sitting at a delta airlines gate in the Kansas City Airport!

After changing planes in Atlanta, I made it to Decatur around 8pm last night. I went to Simp McGhee’s Restaurant for dinner. The Shiner Bock beer and the fact that they had the Olympics on the TV were about the only positive things about it. I had gumbo and fish tacos but it wasn’t stellar.

Breakfast Wednesday morning was at Cracker Barrell which was fantastic! Eggs over medium and an order of biscuits.

I made it to our subcontractor’s module fabrication yard at 8am and met with the VP of Operations. They lost instruments and valves associated with a project in Kansas and I was there to find them. They fired their material shipping and receiving manager over the incident and the new one had already located pretty much everything.

I spent the whole day managing paperwork and standing over someone else filling out paperwork to ship instruments and valves back to Kansas. Thankfully everything fit on the uhaul truck and were delivered to the jobsite the next day in Bushton.

I went to dinner at The Brick which was a pretty cool bar scene. They had a bunch of beer on tap and I had a Sweetwater Red Ale and a burger. I went back to the hotel and worked for several more hours on answering email. I caught a 5am flight back to Kansas city (via Atlanta) and went into work on Thursday. It was a very long week but it was worth it when my boss thanked me for going. I’m working really hard for a bonus at the end of the year because my bank account is hurting…I guess we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

