A day in the life…

Today. My life goes by too fast to try to catch you up for the entire past week. It’s my fault for not posting but it’s blog so…

Today.

Run Club – I really didn’t feel like running this morning. I got plenty of sleep last night but I haven’t eaten very well this week so my body doesn’t want to function like I’m used to it doing. It’s funny how I’ve lived my entire life eating whatever I wanted to but now that I’m paying extensive amounts of attention to what I’m eating, it seems like it makes more of a difference. Probably just in my head but never the less.

I am trying to remind myself that I will never regret doing something (especially if that something is going to the gym or going for a run) but I will almost always regret not doing something. So, I went to run club this morning. It was hot (90 degrees) at 8:30am but I ran 3.08 miles anyway. Took me 31:24 but that’s still pretty good for me.

My watch is being dumb. I synced it to my computer a week or so ago and when I did, it changed from showing me how many minutes my pace would take to finish a mile to showing me miles per hour. I don’t want to do math to figure out how fast I’m running so I’ve been trying to change it back but with no luck. So I gave it to Brandon to fix. He’s the one that decided my watch is being “dumb” since he can’t figure it out immediately either.

In the meantime, he let me borrow his watch to run with this morning. It buzzes and vibrates at every mile which made me jump and almost trip every time! It was nice to have all different kinds of information displayed but it’s huge. It was like having a weight on my right wrist. That’s ok. I really appreciate him letting me borrow it!

I was pretty sick feeling by the time I was done running. Probably was getting close to over heating. I drank a lot of ice water and decided I was going to do a full workout regardless of how I felt. I was at the gym and it’s a hour drive roundtrip to go so I was making the most of it!

  • 3 minutes of elevated planks
  • 100 crunches holding onto the window ledge
  • 100 squats with a 25 pound bar on my shoulders
  • 100 pull downs at 7.5 pounds with the double ended rope
  • 30 skull crushers with 25 pound bar while holding my legs elevated
  • 30 leg raises while holding a 25 pound bar
  • Arm raises with 5 pound weights in each hand
    • 20 to the side with hands flat
    • 20 to the front with hands flat
    • 20 to the side with hands to the side
    • 20 to the front with hands to the side
  • 3 sets of 20 reps of Lat/Back pull downs with the straight bar
  • 2 sets of 10 elevated push-ups
Overall, I’m super proud of the workout I did this morning. Probably should have had some lunges in there somewhere but my legs were pretty much jelly when I got done anyway. Plus, you have to leave something to do tomorrow. šŸ™‚
After the gym, I met my friend Rachel at an Ethiopian Restaurant in City Market. Our mutual friend Ben and his new wife Becca are in KC for a wedding tonight so they came to eat with us too. We ate communally which was a neat experience. They brought everything out on one plate with sponge bread to use as utensils. I was nervous that my body wouldn’t appreciate this dramatic change in diet but it’s been fine and the food was really good.
I especially enjoyed the lamb. Eating lamb makes me think of Janet Gilmore. It must be that she would always make it for Passover and I loved it then too. It’s times like that, when she sneaks up on me, that I appreciate her strength for life. She made, and continues to make, such a difference in my life. I hope to have that kind of impact on people close to me.
Rachel, Becca, and Ben had already walked around the market while I was working out so we found some fudge and they left. I went shopping for all my produce. I don’t think I will ever buy produce at a grocery store in Kansas City again! Everything looked really fresh and was the same price or cheaper than the grocery store. I bought all the fruit to make sangria tomorrow. I also bought some spices. They were a dollar a scoop and each scoop with last me several months I think!
I had a ice cream craving on my way home. I haven’t had one of those in years so I gave in. I walked over to a gelato store that seems to never be open when I’m in P&L. It was pretty good. Horrible customer service but the gelato was good. Not quite Italy quality but getting pretty close and o how I love expresso flavored ice cream!
I sat down on my couch when I got home and woke up 4 hours later to my phone ringing repeatedly. Naps throw me off typically because by the time I finally let myself nap, I wake up sick as a dog or two days later. It was a nice change of pace to just sleep four hours and get up and go to dinner.
I tagged along with Matt, Rachel (Matt’s wife, not the same as the previously mentioned Rachel), Mary and Kevin who are all on the kickball team with me. We had dinner at McCoy’s in Westport. It was good. Good conversation but I was tired from napping (sounds counter but true) so I came home and watched a movie on the couch. Now I’m ready for tomorrow šŸ™‚
I guess I can catch up portions of my last week.
Wednesday.
Training Wednesday night was good. Somehow the weeks that it’s just Courtnay and I seem to be harder than the weeks that Morgan is there too.
  • 8 minutes of walking lunges on the treadmill holding 10 lb weights
  • 100 crunches holding onto the fence posts
  • Post sits with 10 lb weights
  • Elevated planks
  • Hamstring Presses – girl push-up position with knees on the ground, cross legs at the ankle, Brandon held onto our feet, squeeze your hamstrings and push off the ground, using your hamstrings to pull yourself up (definitely ended up with cramps in my hamstrings and they’ve been sore ever since0
  • Dead lifts with 10 lb weights
Thursday.
Run Club was at 6am. I went four miles which is the farthest yet since the doc cleared me. It was pretty warm and humid outside but I kept with the pace group for the first two miles. We went down the big hill on Prairie Star for the first time since I slipped and fell on it the week of my race in February. It was mentally tough to make myself run it. I did walk for about 100 feet since my heart started skipping and it freaked me out a little bit. I finished in less than 40 minutes (38:05 I think) which was awesome!
Work was pretty rough Wednesday and Thursday because I had so many meetings and my mentor Sarah was getting ready to leave for Houston. Thursday we went to lunch with about 15 people in the office to celebrate her service in Kansas City.
Burns & McDonnell celebrates all these different reasons it’s great to work there and Thursday afternoon was one of those celebrations. It was work sponsored happy hour with tours of the new auditorium facilities. I had a lot of fun talking to all different people and drinking some home-made wine. I’m hoping to find out who makes it and order a case because it was amazing!!
Thursday also means kickball! We won our second game of the season 12 to 3 against the green team. Our team captain, Lars, had an accident on his bike on the way over to the game. He ended up in the hospital with 9 staples and 4 stitches closing a gash in the back of his head. He definitely had a concussion since he didn’t know what month it was. It was pretty scary but he’s fine. We ended up at Kelley’s like most weeks. Pizza, beer, flippy cup, good times.
Friday.
Went back to the chiropractor and got a good report. It was the first time he had seen me since I started running so I was a little nervous. He was pleased with how my foot was moving and he adjusted my back. Still thinks I need to have a shoulder and back massage to take some of the tension out but overall good.
Leave a Reply

